Creativity and Ramblings from the heart of NYC and around the World

Thursday, July 19, 2007

It's a Seven

So now that the New Seven Wonders of the World have been selected, how has this changed your travel to do list? In case you missed all of the hub-bub in Lisbon on 07.07.07, they announced the New Seven Wonders of the World that have been "elected to represent global heritage throughout history." They are, in random order:

The Great Wall, China**
Petra, Jordan
The Statue of Christ Redeemer, Brazil
Machu Picchu, Peru
The Roman Colosseum, Italy
The Taj Mahal, India
Chichén Itzá, Mexico**

The project has an interesting history and was an ambitious effort indeed.

In 2005 the 77 innitial nominations were narrowed to 21 and the voting began.

What didn't get selected for the final 7?

The Acropolis, Greece
Alhambra, Spain
Angkor, Cambodia
Statues of Easter Island, Chile
Eiffel Tower, France **
Hagia Sophia, Turkey
Kiyomizu Temple, Japan
Kremlin/St. Basil, Russia **
Neuschwanstein Castle, Germany
Pyramids of Giza, Egypt
Statue of Liberty, USA **
Stonehenge, United Kingdom
Sydney Opera House, Australia
Timbuktu, Mali

(Those with the ** I've visited - yeah!)

Did you vote?

Now's your chance to nominate a wonder to be considered for the 7 Natural Wonders of the World. The website lists says, "The nominations will continue through 08.08.08. Then a panel of experts will create a list of 21 candidates from which voters worldwide will elect the 7 wonders of nature."

They list the criteria, catagories and examples there too. Click on over and start nominating!

Labels: , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home